site search by Freefind Advanced

Phase Two

The NRD Board of Directors has designated eight Phase Two Ground Water Management Areas in the District; the Lower Salt Creek Ground Water Management Area, designated in 2001; the Valparaiso Community Water System Protection Area (CWSPA), designated in 2004; and the Davey, Hickman, Pleasent Dale, Union, Weeping Water, and Otoe County Rural Water District #3 CWSPAs, designated in 2009. Elevated levels of nitrates from non-point sources prompted all of the designations.

Landowners or operators who make nitrogen management decisions within designated Phase Two areas may be required to attend a Nitrogen Certification Class every four years. The NRD will correspond to determine who needs to attend.

Phase Two Rules & Regulations (quality only)

  • 50% of wells in the monitoring network must be at or above 50% of the MCL*
  • Designation must be preceded by a two-year verification study
  • All Phase One rules and regulations continue
  • Require educational certification for persons engaged in the use, application and storage of the contaminant(s).
  • Increased cost-share on best management practices for targeted area.
    Review the effectiveness of Phase Two annually.

*MCL - Maximum Contaminant Level - The maximum amount of a pollutant that is safe for human consumption, as established by the federal Environmental Protection Agency.

YouTube Instagram Facebook Home Programs Projects Recreation Permits & Forms Publications/Plans About Us