Lower Platte South
Natural Resources District
protecting lives, protecting property, protecting the future

NRD Logo
About Us

board
about
subdistrict and precinct
your representatives
meeting minutes
staff
budget
history
Maps
employment
statutes
contact us
Links

NRD Staff

Paul Zillig- General Manager
pzillig@lpsnrd.org
  • Manage district operations & supervise all district employees
  • Provide guidance & assistance to board of directors
  • Coordinate programs with government & private agencies
  • Coordinate project development with staff
David Potter- Assistant General Manager
dpotter@lpsnrd.org
  • Assist general manager in district operations
  • Coordinate conservation cost-share programs
  • Administer Watershed Structure Rehabilitation Program
  • Assist with Lower Platte River Corridor Alliance
John Albert- Conservation Technician (Lancaster County NRCS Office) john.albert@ne.nacdnet.net
  • Conservation practices survey, design and layout
  • Conservation cost-share applications, payment claims and conservation plans
  • Contact for NRD programs / inquiries
McKenzie Barry- Environmental Education Specialist mbarry@lpsnrd.org
  • Facilitate and coordinate NRD Environmental Education Programs
  • Manage all District social media
  • Coordinate NRD nitrogen certification & groundwater allocation trainings
  • Earth Wellness Festival (ewf) Coordinator

Devin Biesecker - District Engineer
dbeisecker@lpsnrd.org

  • Coordinate Deadman's Run Section 205 Flood Reducation Study
  • Provide engineering support for NRD projects
  • Coordinate Salt Creek Levee Project Improvements
  • Evaluate operation of NRD projects

Katie Cameron - ENWRA Project Coordinator kcameron_enwra@lpsnrd.org

  • Plan, manage and administer the Eastern Nebraska Water Resources Assessment (ENWRA)
  • Perform and coordinate technical duties
  • Provide hydro geologic consultation
Connie Damrow- Bookkeeper
cdamrow@lpsnrd.org
  • Accounts payable
  • Assist with district finances
  • Grants management
  • Alliance financial support
Dick Ehrman- Water Resources Specialist dehrman@lpsnrd.org
  • Develop and manage ground and surface water monitoring programs
  • Coordinate ground water/geologic data gathering for district
  • Assist with implenentation of Ground Water Management Plan
  • Assist with ground water programs
Kasey Ferris- Receptionist/Program Assistant kferris@lpsnrd.org
  • Office receptionist
  • Administer NSWCP conservation cost-share programs
  • Coordinate office and staff schedules and NRD meetings/rooms
  • General office duties and secretarial support
Connie Hansen- District Secretary (Lancaster County NRCS Office) connie.hansen@ne.nacdnet.net
  • Contact for NRD programs/inquiries
  • Conservation cost-share applications/claims
  • General office duties
Kyle Hauschild- Stormwater/Floodplain Specialist khauschild@lpsnrd.org
  • Provide technical assistance for stormwater & floodplain management and erosion & sediment control
  • Coordinate NRD Urban Water Quality Program
  • Coordinate NRD Community Assistance Program
  • NRD / City of Lincoln Project Liaison
Jeff Hegy- Operation and Maintenance Coordinator jhegy@lpsnrd.org
  • Coordinate operation & maintenance staff
  • Salt Creek Levee Project inspections, operation & maintenance
  • Salt Creek Project (non-levee) operation & maintance
  • As-Built Project construction plan organization and archives
Steve Herdzina- Water Resources Conservationist sherdzina@lpsnrd.org
  • Develop and implement ground water monitoring activities
  • Manage ground water database & reports
  • Ground water best management practices cost-share programs
Bryce Jensen- Maintenance Technician
bryce@lpsnrd.org
  • Maintenance on NRD projects and properties
  • Manage Weed Control Program
  • Operate/maintain NRD equipment
  • Platte River ice monitoring
Ariana Kennedy- Resources Conservationist ariana.kennedy@lpsnrd.org
  • Trail development, inspections and management
  • Manage and inspect buffer strip and filter strip program
  • Assist with NRD lakes and wetlands
  • Conduct conservation easement inspections
Nathan Kuhlman- IS Administrator
nkuhlman@lpsnrd.org
  • Design, implement and operate information systems architecture
  • Update and maintain network system
  • Analyze information and technology needs
  • Ensure computer networks are operational, backed-up and secure
Al Langdale- Operation/Maintenance Technician alangdale@lpsnrd.org
  • Urban channel inspection/maintenance, including Antelope Valley
  • Coordinate hiker/biker trail maintenance
  • NRD building maintenance
  • Vehicle purchase and maintenance
Mike Mascoe- Public Information Specialist mmascoe@lpsnrd.org
  • Produce all informational materials & NRD Newsletter
  • Coordinate media and promotional activities
  • Responsible for website design and content
  • Coordinate special events
Craig Matulka- Operation/Maintenance Technician cmatulka@lpsnrd.org
  • Manage weed control program
  • Perform general operation & maintenance duties
  • Conduct dam safety inspections
  • Maintain NRD Dam database
Donna Reid- District Office Secretary
dreid@lpsnrd.org
  • In charge of filing systems and maintaining electronic data storage
  • In charge of putting agenda/agenda items, board and subcommittee minutes on web page
  • Purchase supplies & equipment for office
  • Provide secretarial support
Ryan Rezac- Water Resources Compliance Specialist rrezac@lpsnrd.org
  • Implement compliance guidelines for Ground Water Rules and Regulations
  • Manage Certified Irrigated Acres
  • Administer Water Meter Cost-Share Program
  • Oversee 319 Water Quality Management Plan
Shaula Ross- GIS Specialist
sross@lpsnrd.org
  • Build and maintain GIS data and projects
  • Gather, analyze and integrate spatial information from various sources
  • Design and create maps
  • Troubleshoot GIS issues
Dan Schulz- Resources Coordinator
dschulz@lpsnrd.org
  • Coordinate implementation of Ground Water Management Plan
  • Liaison for Saline Wetland Conservation Partnership, Nebraska Forest Service, Nebraska Land Trust and Prairie Corridor on Haines Branch
  • Coordinate and manages public access properties
  • Supervise various staff and temporary employees
Jay Seaton - NRD Forester
jseaton.forester@lpsnrd.org
  • Oversee NRD Conservation Tree Seedling Program
  • Coordinate NRD Community Forestry Grant Program
  • Provide technical forestry & tree planting assistance to public
  • Provide tree planting designs & plans to interested public
Kathy Spence- Administrative Assistant
kspence@lpsnrd.org
  • Payroll
  • Accounting of district finances
  • Wellness program coordinator
  • Supervise clerical staff
  • Recording secretary for monthly board meetings
Cindy Spilinek- Conservation Technician (Cass County NRCS Office) cindy.spilinek@ne.nacdnet.net
  • Conservation practices survey, design and layout
  • Conservation cost-share applications, payment claims and conservation plans
  • Contact for NRD programs/ inquiries
Adam Sutton- Environmental Education Assistant asutton@lpsnrd.org
  • Assist in education presentations, programs & field trips
  • Assist with Family Nature Nights and afterschool clubs
  • Coorindate Test Your Well Nights
  • Manage Resource Lending Library & Classroom Kits
Ed Ubben- Projects Coordinator
eubben@lpsnrd.org
  • Assist with the planning, design, landrights, contract preparation, construction and maintenance of district's projects
  • Supervise Stormwater/Floodplain Specialist and Operation & Maintenance staff
  • Develop & promote urban stormwater programs
  • Coordinate construction of flood control dams, channel restorations and flood reduction projects
Jean Ulrich- District Secretary (Cass County NRCS Office) jean.ulrich@ne.nacdnet.net
  • Contact for NRD programs/inquiries
  • Conservation cost-share applications/claims
  • General office duties
Chris Witthuhn - Water Resources Technician cwitthuhn@lpsnrd.org
  • Groundwater monitoring, sampling and water levels
  • Well permits
  • Chemigation permits
  • Well decommissioning cost-share

HOMEPROGRAMSPROJECTSRECREATION
PERMITS AND FORMSPUBLICATIONSABOUT US